Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Nov 29, 2006, 11:20 PM   #1

I just recently discovered this wonderful site and am hoping to get acouple of quick answers to confirm my decision to buy the Sony R1. I have been using a F717 for the last 3 1/2 years and it has been failing me for the last 6 months. It is time to replace it. Although I wouldn't mind the ability to shoot a MPEG here or there or have a longer zoom, the R1 seems like such a good direction to move. Here are my questions.

1. Can I use my Sony HVL-F1000 flash with this camera?

2. I have been fairly happy with the action shots with my F717 - will I be happier with the R1 for taking action shots?

3. Are the macro capabilities about the same as the F717?

Thanks in advance for your indulgence.

Greg

wyomingwiseman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 30, 2006, 12:15 AM   #2

Hi, Greg:

First off, I really love your avatar! What a sweetheart. She could almost be one of my relatives - LOL.

Secondly, welcome to the forum!

As for your questions about the R-1, I don't have all the answers because I've never used your model so I can't compare the two. How it compares to your F17 - it might be better, or worse. I'm not sure. But if you scroll back a few days in this forum, you'll see other posts and pictures specifically addressing the action capabilities. The R-1 is a GREAT portrait camera. It is also wonderful for landscapes. There is absolutely no doubt about either of those facts. However, it was not designed for action or macros. I would call it "decent" in those areas, but not superior. My best advice would be to try out the camera before you commit to it; alot of stores have a 30 day return policy. Amazon is one.

Hope this helps - please remember I have only had the R1 for a relatively short while, so others with more experience may have a different outlook altogether. Cheers! Ria
RiaRia is offline   Reply With Quote