Steve's Digicams Forums

Steve's Digicams Forums (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/)
-   Sony (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/sony-34/)
-   -   H9 in RAW mode (https://forums.steves-digicams.com/sony/125350-h9-raw-mode.html)

Sunbeam35 Jul 7, 2007 11:57 AM

I am a novice with my new H9 camera and have heard discussions on RAW and have no idea what it is.

Will my camera shoot in RAW? I have seen nothing in the manual but still looking.

I am curious :mad: and would like to know what the initials RAW stands for.

Thank your for any help.

Cyberf828 Jul 7, 2007 12:08 PM

Heres some good info.

http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,123477/article.html

CyberShotNut Jul 7, 2007 12:27 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAW_image_format

The H9 does not have raw mode...

nickphoto123 Jul 7, 2007 7:17 PM

Hi Sunbeam,

To my knowledge, the term RAW has the same connotation as the word 'Uncooked'.

Digitally, all of the data from the sensor captured during an exposure is saved for future use. This saving process includes a non-destructive condensation of the original data, to save storage space on the memory card.

Software able to reverse the condensation process is required to 'open' the image to be viewed as an image on one's PC.

The H9 does not have Raw format available to the user.

BUT..BUT..BUT.. The H9 CAPTURES EVERYTHING IN RAW and then subtracts noise and then processes the image in the Bionz processor. Sony attempts to do all RAW processing for you n the H9.

Many people, myself included, are satisfied with this 'built-in' processing buy Sony. It actually has saved me hundreds of hours ( so far ) at my PC that I would have had to spend with my Sony R-1's images.

I am at 10,000+ H9 images with my camera ( so far ).

Many people, as they post their opinions on the web, are not happy with this built-in Sony processing.

When I bought my H9, one of the main reasons was because of this promised built-in processing. For me, it has delivered.