Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Mar 4, 2008, 6:49 PM   #1

I need help! I'm new to digital photography, I bought the Sony DSC-H9 camera when it came out, and I haven't been able to figure out how to capture accurate colors with ease.

I keep switching between settings, Manual, Auto, Flash, no Flash, ISO. But I don't know what settings I need to adjust, and I end up wasting 15-20 minutes per photo that I'm trying to take.

I take pictures of items for catalog/and future online store, so they need to be good quality for printing. I find that when I go to the ISO setting it doesn't print as well, it looks grainy.

The flash pictures sometimes look too shiny, or just don't come out with the right color. Reds and blues are specially difficult. I tried to take a picture of an item that is grey and it keeps coming out looking blue. Or something brown (wood) looks redish when it's a medium dark brown.

Please someone explain what settings should I be adjusting. I know that I bought a decent enough camera that can do this for me without making me go crazy!

Any ideas to try would be appreciated.

Oh, and just one more info, I am using a small portable lightstudio, so I do have lights on the sides, and a white box where my products sit and the camera is on a tripod.

I appreciate your help again!!!

Thanks!!
fmg_29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 5, 2008, 6:28 AM   #2
Administrator

Look up how to set a custom white balance in your camera's manual. That allows it to measure the color temperature of the lighting you are shooting in and apply it to your images. A photographic gray or white card is one target you can use. But, almost anything white can work in a pinch (I sometimes use some white coffee filters stacked together as a White Balance target).

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2008, 7:52 AM   #3