Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Mar 4, 2011, 9:48 AM   #1

Default Some HX5V Advice Needed

Hi All

I have had a HX5V for about 6 months now and am still trying to get the best out of it, i have to admit that i am a novice when it comes to photography so some of these questions may sound very basic.

My first problem is Focusing, I always thought that when you took a picture the whole picture would be in focus, am i wrong? I have tried taking pictures with using the setting where its picks out loads of focus points, and the setting where it focuses just on the middle, and always the photos seem a little out of focus the further away from the centre you get, i wish i could attach some examples but not sure how to as it says the files are to big.

What is the best way to get overall good focus?

Sorry if this sounds basic, i have loads of question but dont want to get on everyones nerves so ill do them one at a time !!

Thanks

Chris
chrisnewton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 4, 2011, 2:25 PM   #2

Chris-

I use center point, spot focus with my HX5 and I am pleased with the results. Technically speaking there is no way to have everything within any photo is totally sharp focus in a point and shoot camera.

Sarah Joyce

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2011, 4:28 PM   #3

That picture looks great, how did you do that? did you just focus on the middle and hold your button half way down and then go all the way down??

Thanks

Chris
Old Mar 5, 2011, 9:25 AM   #4

That is as totally near "full" focus as I could get for you. As I mentioned in my previous post: I used center point, spot focus.

Sarah Joyce
Old Mar 5, 2011, 10:00 AM   #5

its a cracking pic, what part did u focus on?
Old Mar 5, 2011, 11:51 AM   #6

Chris-

I focused on the Alder trees. And the shot was hand held.

Sarah Joyce
Old Mar 7, 2011, 11:27 AM   #7