Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Jan 10, 2004, 5:32 PM   #1

Default So here I was, all ready to buy Sony's F828/Choices help plz

I'm not a pro photographer , just an amatueur with a Sony S85 4mp which I've grown to like quite a bit.

Playing around with that camera and a few 35mm camera's that I have , I've gotten pretty good at taking pictures (so I'm told) and decided I needed something better than the S85 as I'd like to make a SERIOUS hobby of it.

I look at the deals on the F717 and I'm tempted , but something about it I just don't like . I read about Sony coming out with the next revolution in ease of use cameras the F828 and think ..... THAT'S THE ONE! Looks like it's going to be awesome!

Then the reviews hit and it sounds like the hopes just didn't equal the final product.

I've held and played with it and the feel is excellent . Very solid and well built . But what good is that if it's picture taking is so limited ? My guess is with all the criticism , this Sony's price and value is going to drop like a rock the minute the inevitable happens and Sony announces they have a new and improved camera to the 828 that fixes all the problems of this first iteration.

Well ..... I don't have the patience to wait for Sony to get it right , but I'm not positive that the camera is all that bad either (Though every review I've read yet seems to find the same problems , so I'm pretty sure it's not wrong.

Here are my choices right now ...... (In no particular order)

==========================

Sony F828 (with it's one IMO phenomenal 28-200 Carl ZeissT* Lens)

$999.99

Cannon EOS - D300 / Rebel Digital SLR (They are one and the same right ?) Package with 2 Lenses

Canon Brand EF-S 18-55mm Lens
Focal Length & Maximum Aperture: 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6
Lens Construction: 11 elements in 9 groups
Diagonal Angle of View: 75-degrees 20' - 27degrees 50'
Focus Adjustment: Inner focusing system with MM