Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Sep 20, 2004, 11:18 AM   #1

Help me...I am in dire straits.

Just when I am about to buy the Sony W1 (W12 actually) I get sidetracked by another camera. This time it is the Canon A95.

I am a relative photography beginner. I am looking for a camera that will take great photos when I go travelling. However I expect that I will want more manual function as I get better, so in addition to a camera that takes great photos in auto mode, I also want one that has manual ability that I can grow into.

These are my criteria:
1) Great photo quality
2) Great photoquality on auto mode
3) Camera about the size of the W1.
4) About the same price too.
5) As much manual function as possible

Great photo quality is the most important thing. Whilst A95 has manual function I want (W1 does not have shutter-speed nor aperture priority) if its picture quality is not as good as that on the W1, then the W1 will always win.

So basically the question is about image quality and manual control. Is there any difference in photo quality between the two? And what are the manual control functions like on the W1?

Help me please. Comments and advice from any and everybody is welcomed (actually desperately needed!)
Martin.
incognito167 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2004, 2:21 PM   #2

Hello! Did not you already ask this at the prtevious forum?

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=28

Why not go to a store and try for yourself and see? The W1 is a great camera but it is missing some manual features/// The way I feel is : if you are not paid to do photography, you will never find the time to improve to the point that you will MISS the manual features... And if you do try to play with it, you most likely will blame the camera rather than yourself! (jst a human nature, trust me, I am a shrink!)