Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Nov 29, 2004, 8:13 PM   #1

OK, I am far from an expert, and am really enjoying my new W1. It takes great still shots. However, I'm finding that in a shot with any movement whatsover, even one that my old flim camera with 200 speed film would take without blur, the Sony W1 blurs the image. Is there a way to correct this on any of the manual settings?

Thanks,

John
john6757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 29, 2004, 9:39 PM   #2

You usually have two choices to stop action. Fast shutter speed or flash.

I don't think the W1 has aperture or shutter priority modes so it is difficult to force the shutter to a motion-stopping speed. So that is out as you know.

If it had a hotshoe or a PC connection I would suggest an external flash to use the stopping power of the flash to freeze action but the W1 only has its built-in flash.

I know Sony makes a slave flash for its smaller cameras (the P series) which might work with the W1.

If that fails, I remember way back in the late 1990's setting up a Wein Peanut slave trigger to fire a Vivitar 283 from my old Mavica FD-91 which also had no provision for a flash. It worked quite well if I recall.

http://www.mav-magazine.com/Oct1998/flash/flash.htm
Meryl Arbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2004, 12:14 AM   #3

john6757 wrote:
Quote:
Is there a way to correct this on any of the manual settings?
yes use the Manual mode and set the shutter speed to whatever you want.
CVonV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2004, 11:55 AM   #4

Thanks for the replies. I guess I'll have to dig out the old user's manual. It was pretty complicated when I first looked at it though.
john6757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2004, 12:08 PM   #5
Administrator

Well, keep in mind that if you are not using a flash, there are only 3 things impacting the shutter speeds you can achieve for proper exposure.