Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Dec 21, 2004, 2:29 PM   #1

As youmay guess, I'm a 35mm photographer (semi-pro). I'm looking for a 'pocketable' digicam to carry around with me most of the time just for spur-of-the-moment photo opportunities.

Two Sony digicams seem to fit my needs... the DSC-F88 and DSC-W1. Actually, Iprefer the F88 because of its novel swivel-lens design (facilitating overhead and low shots)plus itsmanual modes. However, the F88's reviews have raised questions in my mind as to image-sharpness (which is paramount to me), whereas the W1's reviews indicate very good image-sharpness. I find this most curious because it seems as if they both use the same lens and sensor! :roll:

Iwould love to hear from owners of either digicam, as well as any advice you might have in helping me select one.
35mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 21, 2004, 6:47 PM   #2

I have a W1, but not an F88. From what I have read, the F88 shares the same folded optics lens as the T1. The W1 has the same lens as the P100/P150.
CyberShotNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 10:02 PM   #3

CyberShotNut wrote:
Quote:
I have a W1, but not an F88. From what I have read, the F88 shares the same folded optics lens as the T1. The W1 has the same lens as the P100/P150.
Quote:
CyberShotNut~ What wouldyou conclude from that insofar as image-quality?
Also, based on your experience with these digicams, how does the W1 compare performance-wise to the P100 and P150 (from theviewpoint of a 'take-anywhere' camera)?
Old Dec 22, 2004, 9:50 AM   #4

The W1, P100 and P150 all seem to be very similar in image quality. Of course the P150 will give you slightly more resolution, but you really have to look closely to notice it. The P100/150 is more pocketable than the W1 and there is less red eye in the P100/150 pictures than the W1. I carry my P100 pretty much everywhere and have not been disappointed by the results yet.