Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Feb 19, 2005, 3:44 AM   #1

Hi everybody.. I am new at this forum.. I just want to learn all of my cameras features.. I have a Sony DSC V1.. I have read its book but I have still questions.. I didnt understand wholly what the "A,M,S,P,SCN....." modes are.. and what are the differences between them..

Another problem of me is ISO at the mode A.. I think its for moving objects.. but I am not sure.. :?

As you see I am new in photography.. Because of that I need your help..If you help I would be gradeful..
okyanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2005, 9:00 AM   #2

For the camera modes, I am going to separate them into two groups.

A,S and M go into one group while P and SCN go into the other.

Lets look at the second grouping first. If you want the camera to make ALL of the technical decisions about exposure so that all YIU have to do is point and shoot then you will use the 'P' or "Program"mode. This will do for the majority of the situations you find yourself in for normal, casual snapshots BUT there are some situations that are not 'normal' everyday shots and the manufacturers have pre-programmed special settings for specific 'SCeNes' (SCN mode). For example, snow requires an adjustment to the standard exposure in order to keep the snow white rather than grey..so there is a special 'Snow' scene mode. The same thing with 'Beach' scene mode which adjusts for the special conditions on the beach. So, as long as you can see what scene it is, you can have the camera make the special adjustments without even knowing what the special needs are.