Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Mar 22, 2005, 3:50 PM   #1
sdh

Anyone care to speculate on whetherSony recalibrated the noise-suppression behavior in the new W5, in response to the many comments that the W1 produces unnecessarily soft images?

cheers,

-steve
sdh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 22, 2005, 5:14 PM   #2

hello steve.

recently i've bought a W5. Before this one, I had a P73.

Well, i'm not a pro, but i noticed hard compression problems with w5 too... I don't really know the imagequality of the W1 as well, but, sincerelly, sometimes i think that my P73 has better image, even with sony lenses (W1 and W5 has Zeiss optical).Furthermore,I think that my W5 have some problems relatedwith dust in CCD, like deadpixels. This is easier to note in pictures taken with large exposure times.

Hugs,

Felipe.
fkuhne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2005, 7:03 PM   #3

Why can't we send this forum directly to Sony "Contact Us" and see their answer. Because I am in the process of buying any of the W5, W7 or P150 or P200 or totaly go to Canon.
palomino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2005, 3:42 PM   #4

You guys may hate me BUT…. Buy the Canon. A friend of mine bought the W1. I was crazy about the size of the LCD, I know LCD Envy. I liked everything about the camera the size, how it felt, how it handled, where the controls were, the Carl Zeiss Lens. I was even able to find one in black. So I bought it! I could go on and on praising the camera except for one thing --- The indoor pictures SUCK!!!! I looked at my old pictures that I took with the Canon S300 and there simply was no comparison. The canon took incredible pictures. I took the Sony on a ski vacation – 80% of the indoor pictures were junk. They were either blurred or out of focus!! I can't ever get those shots back.