Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Mar 26, 2005, 3:39 PM   #1

Hi all...

I have a couple of questions on the settings I should be using to shot "action shots". Here is what I have done.

ISO 100
F2.0
NR100+

But when I put the NR at 100+ I have to kick up the F and for some reason the shots are looking washed out. If I kick the NR down to say 10-13 then the camera is to slow but the lighting is good. I have also messed with the ISO but it doesn't seem quite right when the pictures come out.

I have also noticed that some of my out door shots seem to have a blue tint to them....

Thanks for your help... And as you might expect I am new to photography.....

R~
rhett7660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 26, 2005, 3:58 PM   #2

You don't indicate what shutter speed ypu are operating with? For action shots, that is the most important variable.
Meryl Arbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2005, 9:21 PM   #3

Hmmm....

On the F717 which number would that be??

F-2.0

-1.7EV

Shutter speed on the F717 is the NR Number I believe.....

Is that number you are refering to???

Thanks again
R~

Old Mar 27, 2005, 2:01 AM   #4

If your shutter speed settings say "NR" it means the noise reduction is activated and any shutter speed that slow should be used with a tripod and still objects. The key to action shots is alot of light with a fast shutter speed.
CyberShotNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2005, 11:55 AM   #5

Hello...

Thanks for the reply... I have it set where the shutter speed is set to 100,200,300 but the picture gets really dark and when I put the F setting to it's lowest mark to lighten the picture it only goes to F2.0 the picture is still too dark...... I have increased the ISO but the noise is getting out of control... Is there anything else I should be looking at... I have been using the "M" setting...

R~
Old Mar 27, 2005, 12:02 PM   #6