Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 14, 2005, 7:44 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
thatsanicepicture2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 859
Default

These kids are CUTE!!!So cute that Iused an
emoticon for the first time! (Probably the last)

As for your pictures, there is absolutely nothing in focus.
The one at 51 mm and 1/25 sec, has double lines... You
moved. The light looks good enough that you could push
the throttle up on the shutter. But you still can't move. I
just don't know what too say partly because I don't use the
F828 and partly because you're moving the camera during
exposure. We have all done it. I have a lot of trouble
with it and that's why I always use a tripod or mono pod
WITH the Sony remote switch. It's a corded switch that
allows you to turn the camera on and off, zoom in and out
and of course release the shutter.

If your going to shoot freehand, the swivel screen allows
you to shoot with the camera down around you waist.
That's a much better place for stability then up by your
face or with your arms stretched out.

Try a shot with the camera on the table. Make sure it
doesn't move even if you have to bolt it down with the
mounting bolt (ΒΌ 20 BTW). You'll see that it will take a
good picture. Unless the guys a t Sony fibbed. If it is still
blurry then there really is something wrong with the
camera. It could be.

Good Luck
dale

thatsanicepicture2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2005, 8:47 PM   #12
LSH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Thatsanicepicture2 - thank you for the comment on the kids. This is why I want this camera to work so badly for the ever lasting memories.

I will trythe shooting from the waist instead of freehand as soon as my camera gets back from Sony. Thank you for all your suggestions - I really do appreciate everyone taking the time to try to help me out in this.

Another stupid question - Does the F717 have an image stabilizer or anti-shake built in and the F828 doesn't?
LSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2005, 9:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
thatsanicepicture2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 859
Default

LSH wrote:
Quote:
Another stupid question - Does the F717 have an image stabilizer or anti-shake built in and the F828 doesn't?
Nope.

I saw a T-shirt years ago that said.... "Remember! Always use your tripod."
nothing else. I want one of those shirts.

But I'm still not sure that there isn't something wrong with that camera. Let me know what Sony said.

dale


thatsanicepicture2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 16, 2005, 3:28 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 19
Default

One difference between F717 and F828 is that the F828 Program mode is shiftable while on the F717 it's fixed. If you're using the F828 in Program mode and the program is shifted towards longer exposure times then longer exposure time will result. Another possibility: you've said that you're using the camera in automatic mode. Isthe mode dialset to the "Full Auto" (Green camera sign) or the white A letter. A stands for "Aperture mode". Still, looking at your pictures: they are exposed properly, the aperture is f:2.8 which is the maximum opening at Tele setting. This means that the shatter speed as determined by the camera is correct and should be 1/8 of a second. At 1/8 no one will be able to get sharp pictures. You should use a tripod, a monopod or another firm support you can find. Use your viewfinder. This way your forehead will act as additional support for the camera. Stop breathing prior to pressing the shutter release.Hold the camera as stable as possible and then press the shutter release as gentle as you can. Hold your breath and don't move at all for another second or so during the shutter lug and the actual exposure.

Good luck!
sjlivson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2005, 3:12 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Default

Here are some W1 concert shots. Flashless and with 1/8th exposure time, without the use of a tripod or monopod. Just me and the camera, so it can be done:








Manolito_Mystiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2005, 8:24 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
thatsanicepicture2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 859
Default

Manolito_Mystiq wrote:
Quote:
Here are some W1 concert shots. Flashless and with 1/8th exposure time, without the use of a tripod or monopod. Just me and the camera, so it can be done:
You do know that the point is to try and help... Not shove pics that you think are better. BTW Your pics are all soft and that's being nice. Out of a twelve picsyou show three that are "OK". Don't get me wrong... If i had taken those pics and it was a band i liked or my kid in the band, i would be glad i got them as good as they are. But you see, LHS had ten times the light and his shutter still goes down too 1/8. Now do you see his problem? Any help? Suggestions? Tips?

dale


thatsanicepicture2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2005, 3:07 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 21
Default

Is ISO set to Auto on the menu?

Seems like the image has plenty of light to get a decent picture.

My suggestion: Try Shutter priority. Set the shutter for 100. Then see what kind of pictures you get. Most of the motion blur (in the camera, not in the subjects) should go away.

Hope this helps....



AAK http://www.luminouseye.com
aakalan is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.