Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Apr 12, 2005, 11:29 AM   #1
LSH

Please help - I had a friend that owned a F717 (took beautiful pictures indoors without flash) and that's what I based my decision on buying the F828. I use the camera basically to take photos at Gymnastic meets - whereNO flash is allowed. I primarily take candid shots not alot of action shots, but every picture that I take indoors is blurry and very distorted and the camera seems to be exposing at 1/8 continuously - even in automatic mode. Did I make a $800 mistake? According to Sonyrepair center - since I am not a professional photographer that I just am not using the camera correctly and it works fine for them but everything I have tried hasn't worked. Any suggestions???

Attached Images

LSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 12, 2005, 11:58 AM   #2

1/8 second isn't fast enough to handhold in most situations. That becomes worse if you zoom. The standard rule is that you want the reciprocal of the focal length for shutter speed handholding with good technique. So at 28mm wide you need about 1/30 second and at full zoom you need about 1/200 second. You could put the camera on a tripod, but that won't help for subject movement.

About the only thing you can do is boost the ISO if you can't use a tripod. You will get noisier shots, but you can take most of that out with the free version of Neat Image. Higher ISO will give you faster shutter speeds. The 828 goes to ISO 800, but the shots are quite noisy. Even then you will have problems with zoom. In auto or program the camera has the lens all the way open, so messing with any other manual settings isn't going to give you a faster shutter speed with decent exposure.