Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Apr 23, 2005, 5:31 PM   #1

I have a Sony FD 75 which I have been using for my ebay pics for 3 years now. My problem is that I am getting random Corrupt Files. I am unsure if it is the camera or the floppy discs. I have been throwing the discs away when I have a problem, but it is happening quite a bit and I am beginning to think it is in the camera. Does anyone have any suggestions for troubleshooting this problem? I have probably put 1500 pics through this camera, could I be nearing the end of the cameras life?

Thanks
phal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2005, 5:47 PM   #2
Administrator

If it were mine, and I really liked the camera, I'd probably try a couple of things before giving up on it, and you wouldn't be risking much money. BTW, 1500 images is not a lot for a camera.

1. Make sure to try anew floppy disk (sometimes a worn one can cause errors, even if it formats fine in another device).

2. Buy a head cleaningdisk (sometimes, the heads on a floppy disk drive can get a little dirty). These typically have a bottle of cleaning solution with them that goes on a specific spot in the included special head cleaning floppy disk. Try a local office supply store, or a large computer store. They are typically under $10.00.

Here is one example:

http://www50.shopping.com/xPC-Kensington_13132A

Here is another (perhaps even better since it has cleaning solution):

http://www.shoplet.com/office/db/REARR1286.html

P.S. -- you didn't saywhere you're seeing the the file corruption. If it's when reading the images from a floppy disk (using your PC's floppy disk drive), then the drive you're reading the disk with (your PC's) could be the culprit.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2005, 6:21 PM   #3

Thanks Jim!

The head cleaner is a good idea and I will try it.

The problem always shows up in the comp, but I rarely check the camera