Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Feb 3, 2003, 4:57 PM   #1

Default Sony DSC 717 Purchase Q's

Hi

OK, I have been comparing cameras and researching my needs for several months now and am on the verge of placing an order with B&H for a Sony DSC 717 plus accessories.

Anybody want to encourage or discourage my decision, I sure would be interested in any last minute suggestions.

Thanks in advance

RJ
RJ Schuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 3, 2003, 5:56 PM   #2

tell us why you picked the 717 and maybe we will have a better understanding of your neads :lol:
mattjac33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2003, 1:29 AM   #3

I made large survey with different digicams before I bought my 717's. First I had thoughts to buy Olympus, because have used film SRLs like OM-3 and OM-40 for a long time and like the quality. I forget Olympus after looked results of tests (pic quality). Last there were Sony 717 and Nikon 5700. Battery and bad low lite functions of Nikon made my decission. And when I heard about new Memory Stick Pro's (up to 1 Mb) I was even more sure.

Anyhow also 128 Mb sticks took around 60 best quality jpg pics. In mostly cases thats enough and you can always buy spare ones like I did. Waiting for bigger ones for tiff pics.

Sony HVL-F1000 flash is also nice. Works just like internal flash, but
have more power. But remember: don't put camera's hot shoe on. I also tried my other third part external flashes and those works also nicely, but have to use manual settings in my 717's for best results. Flashes make nice looking pics. More natural than with film SRL's.

High Grade Conversion lenses (VCL-HGD1758 and VCL-HGD0758) make nice pictures but are quite costly and heavy. If you have used SRL's, the size and weight ain't big matter.

Remote control RM-DR1 is very helpfull when take macros with the
tripod. It have also handy zoom switch.