Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Jan 30, 2006, 7:32 AM   #1

I have a H1 that takes great pictures outside, but when I take pictures inside, even slow movments, such as hands are blurred why? I can go on any setting and it still does the same thing. Can I change a setting so it stops? Thanks
bschmidtbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 17, 2006, 12:58 AM   #2

Hi there, I'm no expert in photography but here's my two cents...

I guess, you would be turning your flash off when you get the blurred images.

IWhat exactly is happening is this - When you turn the flash off, the shutter speeds are set very low which causes the images to get blurred. You got to increase the shutter speed, which you can do by setting the camer in 'S'mode or 'M' mode on the dial. Keep the shutter speed at 40 or above till you get an unblurred image.

you could find that with the above mentioned shutter speeds and with the flash turned off, you could get dark/underexposed pictures......Solution to that lies elsewhere......

Hope it helps, of course experts may be able to give a better/diff opinion.

guruosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2006, 1:55 AM   #3

Your eyes adapt to indoor light and it looks fine to you. But there isn't enough to generate sufficient shutter speed and still properly expose the image. Stabilization helps you hold the camera at lower shutter speeds by eliminating hand shake. But stabilization does nothing to help subject movement.

There is no magic setting that will help. When the light gets to the point where the shutter speed falls below the reciprocal of the 35mm equivalent focal length the lens is wide open and giving you all the shutter speed it can to still expose the image with the available light. When the camera is metering full aperture and 1/8 second on the shutter, switching to manual and setting a faster speed is just going to give you a grossly underexposed image.