Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Feb 12, 2006, 8:58 AM   #1

Hi,
I've been researching for weeks and have gone from powershoots to SLR's back to powershoots or super zooms whichever you call them.
I want a camera I can take quality pictures I can enlarge to 12 X 16 / 13 X 19 etc. to hang on wall.
Any wisdom would be very much appreciated. I need a simple camera I'm not experienced with cameras other than a point and shoot. My last camera was an Olympus C-720 which is destroyed.
I'm looking at the Sony DSC H1, Canon PS S2IS, & the Panasonic DMC FZ20 or FZ30.
Thanks, K.P.
K. Pitre is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 12, 2006, 12:29 PM   #2

I was impressed with the Panasonic but no more proprietary batteries for me. It's AAs or nothing. I've had bad expereince lately with Panasonic support. They're not the company they used to be so for those reasons the Panasonic is not in the mix for me.

The Canon S2 IS vs the Sony H1 is a better fight and there's apost that might help you a little lower down that's "Sony-H1 vs. Canon S2 IS"

I bought the Sony and am more than satisifed.

subeluvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2006, 3:28 PM   #3

But can you get quality prints you can enlarge to hang on walls?? Is a 5 Meg enough to get quality large prints???
K. Pitre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2006, 7:21 PM   #4

Wouldn't that be a 5mb question not a specific camera question?

I'd ask that in the General Q&A
subeluvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2006, 2:10 AM   #5