Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Apr 28, 2006, 10:55 AM   #1

im no professional at all, heck id be hesitant to even call me an amateur. i basically just point and click pictures of my kids, around house stuff, etc... but ready to step it up. my old sony dsc-p32 is outdated and I hate the lag from time i press button and it actually takes picture...

so i want to get something that i can grown into, im starting to really enjoy taking pictures. so I was looking and came across these 2 cameras. Im leaning towards the h2 just because its the newest camera.

got a simple question though, i dont have a digital video camera, wondering how well the video is on these cameras, would it be enough to take little clips of the kids around the house, then use a movie maker program and create little dvds of the kids? or am i gonna have to splurge and throw another $500 down for a seperate video camera?

other than the video question, dont really know of anything specific to ask because i really dont know much... just want something that i can grow into and get different lens, etc down the road once i learn a little more...

would love to see some sample pictures taken from either these 2 cameras tho, and would really love to see a video clip... thanks

00bolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 28, 2006, 12:59 PM   #2

You can take movies that look pretty good at 640 X 480 and 30fps. Movies from a good digital camera aren't as good as what you can get from a good camcorder, but you not only have to consider whether you want to buy a camcorder but whether you want to carry both.