Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 17, 2006, 4:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Does anyone know where I can get a Radio Slave to fit the hotshoe of a Konica Minolta 7D to control the studio lights? Everytime I use the PC Connection, the studio lights keep firing with any camera movement.

Iam not sure if I am asking for the correct unit name. I would need both the Hotshoe unit and the wirelessreceiver unit.



Thank you in advance.



Cordially,



-Chet-
Hexfyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2006, 6:02 PM   #2
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah, GA (USA)
Posts: 22,378
Default

It sounds like you've got a bad connector shorting out if camera movement causes your strobes to fire. So, replacing the sync cable would be a good first step.

If you want to use a radio trigger and slave arrangement via your hotshoe, you'd need an adapter to give your 7D an ISO standard hotshoe (I'm unaware of any triggers that work directly from a Minolta hotshoe).

The correct adapter to give your 7D an ISO standard hotshoe is the Minolta FS-1100.

There are also a number of third party adapters available. Search for FS-1100 on Ebay and you'll find a vendor in Hong Kong selling third party adpaters for $14.95 + $5.00 shipping. I've got the same adapter that I use on a 5D.

Then, most radio triggers should work fine with it. You see a lot of different types on Ebay (and many of them will also work via your camera's PC Sync port versus needing to fire via a hotshoe). Just search Ebay for Radio Trigger and you'll find lots of them.

A higher end unit would be something like the Pocket Wizard

Also take a look at this thread for more alternatives.

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=84



JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 10:25 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Thank you very much.

-Chet-
Hexfyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 11:26 AM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Mounting it on a flash handle bracket (like a stroboframe) works too (you have to use a pc-synch chord anyway). I use the FS1100, that Jim mentioned, on top of my 7D & a Patterson Interfit infrared trigger. The FS100 will fire my Vivitar 285HV like a regular hot-shoe but I have to use my Interfit pc-synch cord to make my infrared trigger fire...the things that make you wonder why)!
  Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 11:57 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

I think the problems with the PC-Synch is with the camera, as the problem happens with several cords I have tried.



I have shot with other photographers who swear by their Radio Units. And I want to be one of the Cool Kids!

Again, Thank you.

-Chet-
Hexfyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2006, 11:58 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Default

The above post was meant to be humerous...



-Chet-
Hexfyre is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.