Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Oct 29, 2006, 4:33 PM   #1

I'm doing some research to set up a studio in a spare room in our home. The room is approx 14'x16' with 9' ceilings. I'm new to the studio lighting and wondered what the difference in a softbox and umbrella were? Also I have a Nikon D70S and was thinking of purchasing the SB-800 speedlight, howeverthe price is equilivant to some of the light kits I've seen at http://stores.ebay.com/Photography-s...QQftidZ2QQtZkm, now I'm wondering if I should invest in the speedlight or the kit. I already have some of the components I would need to make my own lighting, but would still need to invest in umbrellas, bulbs and adapters (if I didn't use the ducttape). I'm thinking I would be better off to use that money towards the light kit. I just don't know which direction to go. Please, does anyone have any advise?

Thanks

A
afayec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 30, 2006, 9:54 PM   #2

Well, I just purchased a studio setup, and it uses umbrellas, so I'll give my opinion. I have a Nikon Coolpix 8800, which I'm very happy with. I ordermy studio strobe set from eBay, here's the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...;rd=1&rd=1

I also ordered a wireless trigger, also from eBay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...;rd=1&rd=1

For software, I purchased Photoshop Elements 5.0 and Photoshop Premiere 3.0 as a combo package. I also ordered a chromakey background, and a stand, I can provide that information if you want.

Anyway, I'm very pleased with the studio setup. I've got things setup in our upstairs game room, and I've taken a few pics. It did take me a while (About 25 minutes or so) to get everything working together, like white balance, and firing the flash, but I'm happy. Here's a pic I took with of our middle child (Clint):

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to contact me.
Attached Images