Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Jun 29, 2003, 6:27 PM   #1

Default Another amateur lighting question......

My wife and i have been experimenting with semi-nude to nude "playful" pics in our home. I want to start playing with some studio lighting a little and need some suggestions. Here is what we have: Olympus C-5050, 10'x20' backdrop, 42" 5 in 1 reflectors. The room is 14'x16' with neutral colored walls. 8' ceiling. We don't want a full extreme studio set-up, just something to add a little punch to her pics. I was thinking of getting a softbox and using the reflectors, but that may not work as i have no experience in lighting. Please help us out. Open to all suggestions. Also, if the strobes or softboxes are the way to go, then what else would i need to hook them up and trigger them with the 5050? Thanks in advance.
JustaGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 30, 2003, 9:43 AM   #2

You probably need the following:

1 to 2 monolights rated @ 160 to 320 w/s with 2 umbrellas and two light stands (air cursion). Later you can add more light as needed for the back ground. You can also go with one monolight and use it in combination with your reflector.

nikon AS-15 PC/ hotshoe converter to convert your hotshoe to PC socket and connect the PC cord to you monolights (work with any camera with hotshoe, better quality than any other brands), about $19.

flash meter to determine the correct exposure. Sekonic 398 is a good and affordable (flash analysis is a very userful tool which built in this flash meter), read both ambient and flash light, the 508 and 608 have spot meter built in.

you must use manual mode (M), set the shutter speed at 1/60 and the f-stop as whatever the flash meter recommends, also remember to set ISO manually also, start at ISO 100.

check out the lighting section at bhphoto.com