Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Feb 13, 2007, 4:06 PM   #1

First off let me say that I am very new to digital photography and with the birth of our new baby boy we want to take portraits at home that could be somewhat equivalent to the department store studios - i.e. wal-mart, sears.

As of now we have a S3 and have been taking lots of photos with it and are completely satisfied, but would like to experiment with portrait style photos of our baby.

I know my camera may be somewhat limited but would be curious to hear from others if I could achieve decent results.

Right now I am considering purchasing 2 umbrellas, tripod and have looked at purchasing the HF-DC1 flash for my camera but not sure if it is really needed or not. I am confused about the umbrellas - will I need more flash or can I get by with the flash on the camera?

I now these are random questions, but I would appreciate any advice or comments. Thanks!
pramos67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 13, 2007, 5:04 PM   #2

It will be difficult getting good results with the onboard flash as the light is too direct. The HC-DC1 flash doesn't appear to be able to direct the light upwards to bounce off a white ceiling either and can only be considered as a booster for the onboard flash.

Your camera doesn't seem to have a hot shoe either to permit using an external flash. Too bad as bouncing the flash off the ceiling would be the easiest solution but you need an external flash with a tiltable head for that.

You mentioned using umbrellas. These are used as reflectors for studio flash heads. Some can be used with external flash units but in either case you would need some way of triggering the remote flash units.