Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Dec 16, 2008, 7:00 PM   #1

I'm scheduled to take a family Christmas picture next Saturday (not of my family) of a rather large family (2 grandparents, 3 married kids with 7+ grandkids). I've done a bunch of reseach on posing, but I'm concerned about setting up flash for the photo. They want the picture inside with them in front of their tree. Its apparently a large 'great room'. I have a flash kit I bought on eBay with 2 150w/s flashes, 1 110w/s flash, 2 softboxes, several reflectors...

How do I best set up flash to capture the mood of the room and also get good exposure on the family? I'm assuming I won't have much natural light to work with..

Any help is greatly appreciated...

jschoenr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 16, 2008, 11:31 PM   #2

I am not an expert but in ideal world you would have access to the room way in advance and prelight and meter and take test shots to get your lighting settings down.

You did not mention how you intend to trigger all your lights, what brand and model etc.? what Camera and Lens you intend to use, etc.

Of course having the measurements for the room and wall color would be a second choice.

Alternatively if you have decent Automatic Flash (again we do not know what Camera etc.) But a flash somthing like a Canon 580ex II, Sigma 530 DG, Nikon SB00, Metz AF58 etc. might be the way to go. You could keep the flash on Auto and the camera on Manual or Auto. A shame not to use all your lights but if you can not get a lot of set up time this might be the best option.

And in fact these Flashes also allow you wirelessly trigger dedicated lights. ******And these On camera Flashes also can provide a non obtrusive red light beam for contrast detection focusing in low light.

Good Luck.
anthlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2008, 6:34 AM   #3
Super Moderator