Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Jul 27, 2009, 2:21 PM   #1

Default Sony a200 M mode

I am a newbie, so go easy on me!
I just got an A200 last week and I would like to take a portrait with it in M mode. I The pics are too dark though. It works fine in the other setting as far as lightness.
I am not using a flash the settings I have are 1/125 f5.6.
I want the fast shutter speed because the subject moves fast.
Help!
justagirl1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 27, 2009, 2:39 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Where and what are you shooting.

If you go to A mode and set f5.6 what shutter speed are you getting in the same environment? I'm guessing is it a lot less than 1/125.

Basically there are 3 elements that control how well exposed a photo is assuming the light is constant. These are shutter speed, aperture and ISO.

To make a shot brighter you can do one or a combination of the following:

Reduce shutter speed, widen the aperture (make the f number smaller), increase the ISO.

To make a shot darker it is the reverse:

Increase the shutter speed, close the aperture (make the f number bigger), reduce ISO.

The reason it works fine in the other mode settings is that the camera will select a shutter speed or aperture that will allow the exposure to be correct, however if the light is not enough then you simply can't get the desired shutter speed. This is where having a camera that allows high ISO and also bright/fast lenses (low f numbers) such as f1.7 enable you to get that shutter speed up. Let's say you had a lens that allowed f2 (to my my maths simple) this is 3 stops more light or 3x as much so if a correct exposure is f5.6 and 1/25s then with the f2 lens you will be able to get a shutter speed of 1/200s.

There is another way to get that shutter speed up which is to have more light so an external flash can be a big help.