Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Aug 15, 2009, 8:44 PM   #1

Default Beginner to off camera lighting/ studio lighting

Hi all, Iím back

I may have some other questions in other forums later. I am really trying to read and get some understanding of what would be best for me, but I think I am more confused as ever now (my normal state of being btw).

Soooo.... I am a beginner. I have a Sony Alpha300. Current lenses are: Minolta 70-210 AF "Beercan"; Minolta 50mm 1:1.7 ; and Sony 18-70 3.5-5.6. I am thinking of going to school for photography. There is an Art Institute on-line division - 4 year bachelorís degree, based in Pittsburgh, which I have applied to.

One of the equipment requirements is to have studio lighting (to include at least 3 monolights, umbrellas, soft boxes, and radio slave). So of course I come here. There is so much to decide: Strobe/Flash vs. cool-flo/Continuous: Watts needed: various dif manufacturers: And I have no practical knowledge.

I need something as affordable as possible; but enough stuff to be effective. There is a seller on e-bay http://tinyurl.com/mnjz89that seems to sell various kits from very basic to lots of stuff; not sure if the equipment is good enough to where I'll hate it a year down the line or not; and what is the minimal equipment I should get to set up a small portrait studio somewhere in my house to learn with ? (I think I have a small room I can use where I can eliminate most outside lighting). Is there stuff I can make by going to Menards that will do just as well and be cheaper?

I've been reading the posts by Benjamin; I want to try some of the stuff he explains, but I'm one of those visual people (I need pictures of what to make-so if anyone made the stuff he describes and can take a picture of it).