Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Nov 30, 2010, 12:13 PM   #1

Default Changing Lighting Intensity

I am researching studio lighting equipment, specifically continuous lighting. My goal is to not break the bank so I've been looking at reasonably priced kits. I like Britek but I'm not really finding any lights where I can dial the intensity up or down. My question is, and please forgive me if this is a dumb question because I'm just learning about studio lighting, if I need to change the intensity (f-stop) of the light do I just move the light forward or backward? It just seems like a lot of work to move the lights and meter every time.

Any advice would be appreciated or any advice about Britek.

Thanks!
Megan97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 1, 2010, 1:27 AM   #2
NHL

Move closer to increase the f-stop
To decrease the light intensity move the light further out
(notice the contrast also changes...)

-> This follows the simple inverse square rule so you may not have to meter every time

Last edited by NHL; Dec 1, 2010 at 1:49 AM.
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2010, 4:54 AM   #3

whats your budget I know with strobes you can dial the intensity.
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2010, 7:02 AM   #4
NHL

FYI - the inverse square law still applies regardless of your strobe having an adjustment dial or not:
http://www.viewfindercenter.com/news...otography.html
Old Dec 1, 2010, 12:15 PM   #5

Thank you very much for your response. That is what I thought but I didn't want to assume that. My budget is around $1000 and I've been looking to buy used equipment but we may buy new since what I have been looking at his been pretty reasonable.