Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Feb 20, 2004, 11:07 AM   #1

Default Studio Lighting...HELP!

I am trying to create a "mobile" business, shooting mostly children and babies. I am confused about which type of lighting I need, continuous or flash. I have very little experience with indoor lighting. I have a limited budget ($500.00) and would like any advice of what a good start up kit would be. I have looked on Ebay and have found many kits, Smith-Victor KT900, Britek 4 LIGHT STROBE/FLASH kit, etc. HELP!!! Thanks for any help you can give me...
Cathyvh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 20, 2004, 12:29 PM   #2

Either might work.
I'd be real worried about the smith-victors around small kids. They might also prove distracting and uncomfrotable to the targets.
(very bright, very hot.)

If the Britek kit you are looking at has built-in modeling lights it might not be a bad start.

EDIT:
IMHO: A kit with a couple of more powerfull strobes, would be beter than a kit with 4-5 lower power strobes.
like one of their Britek PS series kits.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2004, 4:25 PM   #3

Thanks for answering my question so fast....would you mind if I picked your brain a little??? What do you think of these kits.....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=30087

or

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=30087

Do I need a light meter with using either one of these??? I really appreciate any help you can give me, I am so lighting deficient!!!

Thanks again
Cathyvh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2004, 9:01 AM   #4

both of those kits looks like junk...if your budget is less than $500, then I recommend this kit;

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=190512&is=REG

Ypu can use the left over to order the one of the softbox:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=129716&is=REG

and yes, you must have a flash meter: