Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Aug 23, 2002, 8:21 PM   #1

Default D100 and Novatron 60-v400-2c MiniKit

I just purchased a Novatron 60-v400-2c kit from eBay. I have no experience with strobes as I have been a hot-light user for years.

In my initial tests, it seems that the strobes are too slow for the D100 and it only catches the flash at the very bottom of the image.

Can anyone help me with this? Are the strobes not going to work with my camera?

I have no idea what I'm doing....
enero is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 24, 2002, 11:41 AM   #2

Do you mean only part of the frame is exposed? If that's true your shutter speed is set too high. Focal plane shutters as used in SLRs have a maximum sync speed where the entire frame is exposed at the same time. According to the review the D100 will only sync to 1/180 second. Set it to that speed or slower and you'll be fine.
padeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2002, 2:21 PM   #3

Yea, it's fine at 180 and below, but I was hoping to have more options. Novatron says that I can send the kit in for an adjustment to make it "Digital" compatable. Do you think it's worth it?
Old Aug 24, 2002, 3:19 PM   #4

There is nothing that can be done to the flash to make it work at faster shutter speeds. What Novatron means by "digital compatible" is a low voltage sync circuit. That's not a bad idea for any modern electronic camera, film or digital, to keep from burning up the sync switch & electronics.