Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Jul 12, 2004, 11:13 PM   #1

Hi! I'm a beginner in digital photo and new to this forum. Need some help.

I just got a SP"Starter kit" from B&H ( SPS920, SPS100, two stands, 33" umbrella, brackets and cables). $229+tax. I want touse it as small home studio for portraits, family pictures,etc.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Also, I use Sigma-500DG Super flash. Can I use it with SP strobes and trigger them with built-in flash, or PCwire? (my camera is Minolta-A1):?

Thanx!

AK-66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2004, 12:28 PM   #2

Welcome to the next step up. You should have a lot of fun...

AK-66 wrote:
Quote:
Also, I use Sigma-500DG Super flash. Can I use it with SP strobes and trigger them with built-in flash, or PCwire? (my camera is Minolta-A1):?

Thanx!

Using on camera flash works fine, set it to manual and use it for fill. I would advise adding a lumiquest softbox (or similar) to soften it up. You could then use the SPS100 with a snoot for a hair light.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Metering can be done with the histogram on your camera if you don't have a flash meter.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Grab a stuffed animal and practice some of the setups before you make the wife and kids get all dressed up. Look at the results and see what you like/don't like and then enjoy the shooting.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
CastleDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2004, 12:29 AM   #3

Thanks a lot for reply, CastleDude!

If I got it right, I can use Sigma as a fill, SPS920 as a key, and SPS100 as a backlight? Where can I find a lumiquest softbox and which light do I have to use it with?