Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Oct 4, 2004, 9:22 AM   #1

After looking though the web sites and posts here I have found this.

http://www.adorama.com/PAINT089U.html

First question: Does anyone know of any problems with these?

Second question: How would I connect these to my Digital Rebel? (I ment it when I said complete newbe )

choeschen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 4, 2004, 9:48 AM   #2

:lol:The good part is you don't need to connect these to the camera, they are what is called HOT lights.

They are on all the time and produce a bright light like a flood lights, to use them you just turn them on and point & shoot with your camrea.

HOT lights are a good way to learn lighting relatively inexpensively, you can also try using the HALOGEN work lights from HomeDepot. There are a couple of other threads recently running on this topic of inexpensive home studio setups.

Strobes like the Alien Bees (good and relatively inexpensive) need to be connected the the camera with a hotshoe adapter or an IR trigger.

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2004, 12:11 PM   #3

I took a look at the AlienBees and they look good and I think I would perfer the flashthen the hot light. To start out with what size sould I go with? I was looking at the 800s but will that be too much for a small studio setup? Would I be better off with the hotlights or is this more a personal preference?
Old Oct 4, 2004, 1:11 PM   #4

IMHO: I think the 800's with soft boxes are a good start, the power output can always be cut back on each light and you usually find you could alway use a bit more output than you expected.

A lot can be done with hot lights (Just look at some ofKalypso's work ) so I think it is a personal preferance to which to use, the hotlights are much cheaper but do warm up the room a bit. The camera will be able to meter the scene directly.