Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Oct 11, 2004, 10:47 AM   #1

I'm a long time film photographer who has now had a Nikon D70 for about 6 months. I used to try to use my older Nikon SB-28 with the D70, but I eventually gave up and got an SB800. Frankly, as compared to my results with my older F100 film camera, I'm disappointed with my flash results. For example, group photos look "flat" and often not as sharp as I was expecting. I've recently started playing with aperture settings in an effort to get more depth of field, and hopefully this will improve things.

I'd like to some more serious portraiture. Another thing I'd like to do is take photos of my wife and a friend for their scarf business. I'd be taking head and shoulder shots of them wearing their scarves to post on the Internet and for printed material. However, I also wanted to just upgrade the general quality of my flash photos.

In going carefully through my D70 owner's manual, I found that I can use my built-in flash in "commander mode", and then fire the SB800 off the camera. I have tried it on a bracket, about a foot above and to the left of the camera, and I've also tried it attached to a clamp that I then clipped onto a chair nearby my model. The results aren't bad, but they are hardly reproduceable, and I'm not really sure what I'm doing.

In the past couple of weeks, I've been looking at a variety of "moderately priced" studio setups, like the Alien Bees with a couple of B800s and umbrellas, or a similar setup with Calumet Travelites.