Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 26, 2004, 12:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
fmilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I came across a rave review of the Lastolite "Umbrella Box", at http://www.dg28.com/lastolite.html. It seems to be a cross between a 40-inch umbrella and a soft box that would work with a conventional battery-powered strobe. (It looks a little like a Westcott Halo, but I'm not sure that a Halo will work with a strobe).

It's not too expensive, about $65 at Adorama (http://www.adorama.com/LSUB408.html?...te%20umbrella%) or B&H (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...814&is=REG) wondering if anyone has used one of these and liked it. I'd be using it with a D70 and an SB-800, presuming that I could figure out how to fire the SB-800 remotely when it was inside one of these things.

Thanks for your thoughts!
fmilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 26, 2004, 4:03 PM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I can't actually see it because none of you links actually work (except the one to Adorama, which had no picture of it). I have used a halo & they do work well with strobes.
  Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2004, 10:58 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
fmilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Sorry 'bout that! I think that I've corrected the links.
fmilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2005, 3:12 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
blundar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I currently use a 48"Alien Bees Brolly Box (very similar). I love it because it is so fast to set up. The other big advantage is that unlike a shoot through umbrella, the back is covered with black cloth so there is no light shooting back towards my camera lens (lens flare is always a potential problem with shoot thru umbrellas).


:|
blundar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2005, 12:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kendal, Cumbria UK: the English Lake District
Posts: 60
Default

I have a Lastolite box which it is possible to assemble without damaging the fabric. Lastolite claim it is user error, but I know of 4 others making the same error!
slioch is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:48 PM.