Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Nov 2, 2004, 8:38 AM   #1

I'm an experienced photographer with natural light and shoe-mount flashes, but I've been giving a lot of thought to getting studio lighting, almost as a natural growth of my "art". The problem is that I don't have a studio, and I worry about spending $1200-2000 on all the equipment, even if I go with one of the "best buys", like Alien Bees.

I was looking at the Calumet website recently, and I see that I can rent two 750ws travelites, stands, and umbrellas for $40 for the weekend. I'm thinking that this might be a relatively inexpensive way to try this out. On the other hand, it might be impossible to really try something in that short a time frame. And, it doesn't include a flash meter, which is another $20. (I'm thinking of just getting a Sekonic anyway, since I have taken to shooting with a couple of slave units and my SB-800 on manual, even if I don't go for studio lighting.)

Do people think that this makes sense? And, how long is a realistic time period to see what I think? Is there anything else that I should be getting, or anything I should do to get a good sense of this?

Thanks!
fmilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 2, 2004, 9:42 AM   #2

Questions:
Do you already have the space set aside to shoot in?
Do you have backdrops? (You will find a huge difference when you shoot using a dark background vs a white one).
Do you have subjects lined up & confirmed for that weekend?
Are you willing to shoot 8hrs a day to get the most out of the short time you will have the lights?
How much is shipping to & from Calumet for the gear?

Observations:
Since you will need a light meter anyway, you might as well buy one outright.
There's a good reason that studios own studio lighting...it works (& works well).
Personally, I wouldn't try to decide based on one or two days of experimenting (I still experiment with lighting at shoots).