Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Feb 13, 2005, 10:45 PM   #1

I'm just getting started with studio strobes, and took this picture earlier tonight. In the top left corner of the picture, you can see there's a bright cirle that I can't account for. Could this be a reflection off the CCD onto the rear element of the lens?

I'm using Canon's EOS 20D with the 17-85mm zoom at f8.0, ISO100 and 1/125s. Camera was straight on at about 8' away, and the strobes were at 45 degree angles, about 5' away from the backdrop. Both strobes, Photogenic AK320's, were at 1/4 power, shooting into white umbrellas (no reflectors) bouncing light back onto the background.

There is also a bigger view here if you want.
http://dev.mdmiller.com/gallery/mill...50213/img_8493

Speaking of backdrops ... what's the best way to keep them? Iron them smooth and somehow try to keep them from getting wrinkled, or wad them up in a duffle bag so they're evenly wrinkled?
MitchInOmaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 16, 2005, 9:08 PM   #2

Did you use a lens shade?

Brad
bradg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2005, 9:23 PM   #3

No. In fact, I don't have a shade for either of my shorter lenses. The 70-200ISL USM came with a shade, but I don't remember getting one for the 17-85, and I know my 50 f/1.4 didn't.

You think that could be it?

-- Mitch
MitchInOmaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2005, 1:21 PM   #4

The spot is lens flare caused by light reflecting off of your front glass. You can buy rubber aftermarket lens shades that will help eliminate it. You can also eliminate most of it by making sure the lights are not aimed towards the front of the camera.
Old Feb 18, 2005, 6:57 PM   #5

The 17-85 doesn't come with a hood, you have to buy it seperate.
You can buy an aftermarket one like kalypso said. Or if you want to buy one from Canon, the model number is: EW-73B