Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Feb 19, 2005, 10:04 PM   #1

I'm experimenting with strobes for the first time tomorrow and the person who was supposed to help memight not be able tomake it! I need to shoot with a shallow depth of field. Do I set up my lights so that my key light meters at my desired f stop? Would I then use the shutter speed according to the meter? I sound dumb, I know. I have NO experience with studio lighting yet. I've been reading a book today in an effort to figure it out.

By the way, I'm trying to take someone's headshots. I would like to try to take them without strobes/flash, but there isn't much natural light in this studio. I know that there are headshot photographers out there who are not using strobe lighting and are hand-holding their cameras. How would I do this? What kind of lighting would I use? Totally beginner questions. Thank you for your patience and help!

niss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2005, 10:25 PM   #2

With strobes you don't need to worry about your shutter speed at all, so long as theshutteris set at or slower than your cameras sync speed. The strobe output durationbecomes your shutter speed which can be somewhere in the 1/1000 to 1/10000 range.

Yes, meter your main light until you get the F/stop you want, then meter your fill to get the desired stop for it. Not sure maybe a relatively flat 1:2 ratio for a head shot? I'm not a people shooter so this target is a tough guess for me. DO use either softboxes (prefered) or umbrellas to soften the light, direct light from the strobe is apoint source which is harsh.

My compadre who is all about people shooting uses a posing table witha non specular reflector on the table it throws some very nice light back up into the face.

Hand held without strobes in a dim studio will be tough :blah:maybe they are using hot-lights?