Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Feb 21, 2005, 4:21 PM   #1

I have the Canon 10D, and a set of twin Elinchrom 500 lights - please could someone tell me what is the best white balance setting to use for these? Flash seems to leave everything a little pink.

Also I've been taught to meter the key light to F11 and fill to F8 then have the camera set at F11 at a 60th but these lights just seem way too powerful for the high key studio stuff I'm trying to do - is there a way to reduce the power (some filters for the lights? Or do I just have to close down the aperture as I have been doing? (I'm using a smallish softbox and white umbrella).

Thanks alot for any advice - I'm fairly new to all this so still climbing that steep learning curve.
chris72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 21, 2005, 4:51 PM   #2

I have not had this problem, but I shoot RAW and adjust after the fact, generally set conversion to either flash or daylight balance, and adjust tint as needed.

On the 10D you can probably move your shutter up to 1/250, at 1/60 you still can pick up some ambient lighting.

If you can, moving the lights twice as far away will reduce the light intensity by a factor of 4. And you have set the strobe to its minimum power? I believe for that model it can be dialed down 3 stops, to 1/4 power.

F8/F11 is a relatively flat lighting ratio, How are you lighting the background? For high-key like white on white, it will need a good dose of light too.

Peter.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2005, 4:52 AM   #3

Thanks alot for that Peter, I do have it pretty much at it's lowest. Everything I have read pretty much says 1 stop between key & fill - what would you suggest?