Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Sep 19, 2005, 11:23 PM   #1

Hi, i'm a newbie to all of this, but i'm a quick learner. I recently bought a Smith-Victor Strobe lighting set. Didn't know i needed to connect the sync cables to SOMETHING on my camera, found out i needed to get a Safe Sync Hot shoe. After i got that, the very first shot i took, the strobe lighting worked....but after that, it hasn't worked since. Pressing the test button on the Safe Sync, and the Lighting works...but the strobe lighting doesn't flah when i shoot? What could be the problem that the lighting won't work together with the camera anymore. Oh, i've got a Nikon 8400
Ron Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 20, 2005, 1:12 AM   #2

Hi

With what I have read on this forum about safe syncs, I think they are a load of you know what.
geriatric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2005, 11:34 AM   #3

Ron Davis wrote:
Quote:
....but after that, it hasn't worked since. Pressing the test button on the Safe Sync, and the Lighting works...
This mean the light are ok, but not 100% sure about the safe sync:
>> short the safe sync terminal (where it goes on the camera) to see if the light work?
- If no, the problem is the safe sync
- If yes, then the safe sync is ok, see next step

Ron Davis wrote:

Quote:
Nikon 8400
Check the camera hotshoe with a flash (with a safe trigger voltage), or with an analog ohmeter , you should see the needle moving briefly (a digital multimeter won't have time to react)

KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2005, 12:05 PM   #4

It depends on your strobe check http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html
for user tested strobe trigger voltages.
The drebel can handle around 10v, the new eos 5d is rated for a max of 250v.

If you want to test it out yourself just jack an old vivitar 283 or 285 into your digital camera and see what smokes.

Peter.

geriatric wrote:
Quote:
Hi