Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Nov 7, 2005, 10:04 PM   #1

I am very new to this, but I am looking for some strobe light kits for under $300. I think I want 2 lights, but not really sure. I don't know if 1 would be enough or not. I want to do portrait photography of my kids and family.

Anyone have any ideas?

I found this kit: http://www.adorama.com/JTSL160BLK.html

but I have heard that these lights have a problem with shocking people. Anyone heard anything about this or have any experience with these lights?

Thanks
jkohn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2005, 2:27 AM   #2

Babies just take it in their stride, so it certainly does not shock them. But I would not advise it . Perhaps some optical prof could say what the opinion on this is.
geriatric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2005, 9:07 AM   #3

You will soon find that one light will not be enough. If it were me, I would consider getting this kit instead:

http://www.adorama.com/LTBK.html

Since you said that you are "new at this," I would seriously consider continous lighting rather than strobes (especially for learning studio lighting). Try doing a search on this forum for "cheap" or "tungsten".
Old Nov 8, 2005, 11:06 AM   #4

If you could manage a little bit more cash outlay, I'd consider the BeginnerBee package from Alien Bees http://www.alienbees.com/packages.html

It comes with one fairly powerfull light. Using it as a Key light with a couple of home made reflectors for fill would get you up and learning.

The AB's have a good solid reputation, and if you ever want to expand to using more lights you can continue to use the one you already have and just add to it.

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2005, 9:29 PM   #5

Thanks for all the info everyone.

Unfortunately I just can't swing the Alien Bees right now.

Does anyone know anything aboutthis kit (or at least the brand) from B&H Photo Video?