Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Feb 20, 2006, 11:52 PM   #1

so I'm new to studio lighting and am having trouble getting the very basics of basics down. I'm shooting with a Canon 20D with a(so far) 2 monolight setup from Photogenic ...the StudioMax III to be specific. The lights are in working order...they flash when I release the shutter, and the slaves areon time.Problem is, even with numerous attemps at changing the exposure, I'm getting a half dark image...even at super fast shutter speeds. ( realize i need a meter). I'm sure it's a user error, but is there anything with the 20D that I should know when it comes to trying to sync studio lights?

Also... the modeling lights. I know their purpose, and these lights have them. Should the mod light AND the flash bulb be constantly on? I thought the modeling light would be on for posing/focusing reasons and then go off to allow for the flash. With these, the heads have a setting for "flash" and "model/flash. What the heck is the purpose of the modeling light if the flash buld remains on with it??

Thanks in advance for any nfo anyone can give me. I apologize if this is a repeat cry for help, but I've become quite discouraged with my first attempt. HELP!
JM32604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2006, 10:20 AM   #2

no ideas as to why i would be getting a half dark image when the lights are flashing correctly? There are some knowledgeable folks on here...I know someone has has some idea :?
Old Feb 23, 2006, 3:53 AM   #3

Modeling lights are to give you an idea of the shadows cast by your strobes. I don't have a 20D, but I would look in the manual & make sure you aren't set-up to flash using "rear curtain synch" or something similar.
Old Feb 23, 2006, 6:45 AM   #4