Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Mar 19, 2006, 11:24 PM   #1

Hi, I'm a total newbie at photography but I have been interested in it. I am contemplating getting started taking baby pictures and portraits. Here is my questions:

I am thinking about getting the Alienbees 800 flash unit. Does the flash unit connect directly to the camera with some sort of hookup? What is the hookup to the camera called? Is it included in the package? I am also looking to purchase a softbox to go with it.

Like I said, I'm new to this, so any advice would be good. I went to a photo shoot a while back and they had this equipment, but I didn't see how it was actually connected to the camera.

Thanks!
magicfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2006, 10:13 AM   #2

Yes the AB will work with a drebel, but the AB only comes with a sync cord and the drebel does not have a socket for it.
You can go 1 of 3 ways :-)
  1. You will need to either get a hotshoe/sync cord adapter (maybe 10$) or
    [/*]
  2. The AB's have a built in optical trigger so you can use the small flash from your camere to trigger it, but it will go off anytime anyone else camera flashes or
    [/*]
  3. get a cheep wireless radio trigger (maybe 40$) like these http://cgi.ebay.com/Digital-Radio-Sl...QQcmdZViewItem[/*]
If you plan to do portraits with studio strobes you will probably want more than one light too. I'd recommend a minimum to start of three.

If you were at a real photo shoot they were probably using wireless.
Also don't forget things like reflectors, scrims, gobo's, backgrounds and background stands, light stands, snoots, barn doors, honeycombs.

You wanted SoftBoxes the ones from AB are OK but not very high quality the material starts to fall apart after a year or so of use. I use Chimera boxes. (You will also need to get a matching speed ring for each box/light)

And don't forget a good flash meter.