Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old May 7, 2003, 12:00 AM   #1

Default Coolpix 5700 and Product Photos

I need to take some photos of products to be used on the web. I like the photos that are presented here of the Coolpix 5700 and expect to shoot the products on a white background.

Can anyone recommend some specific products that I would need?

I considered the SB-80DX but suspect I may need something else to reduce the shadow effect.

I'm a newbie so please be specific.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Erez
erezwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 7, 2003, 6:19 PM   #2

I would not suggest a shot mounted flash. First and best thing you can do it move the flash off the camera. Next is to make it bigger. Use a small flash head and you'll have essentially a point source of light and hard edged shadows. Umbrellas and softboxes turn a strobe into a big light source with soft, feathered shadows.

As for specifics what kind of products are you shooting? Cars? Jewelry? In between? I'm guessing tabletop stuff. For that I use a 160ws monolight with a large (36"x48") softbox overhead on a boom stand. That's a few bucks more than a shoe mounted flash. How much of a budget do you have?
padeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2003, 8:34 PM   #3

For small object shooting only, I would not invest in expensive studio lighting system . I am thinking about 2 relatively cheap setups possible:
1) some fluorescent light at different angle
2) 2 or more small slave flashes using some kind of reflector to diffuse light , the picnic kind dishes do this job very well .

Of course, getting moonlights and umbrellas may give you the mood to do portrait as well ...
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2003, 11:44 AM   #4