Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Studio Lighting, Flash & Other

Old Jun 26, 2006, 8:15 AM   #1

Happy new owner of a 580ex here. This is my first time to own a flash unit, andI'm delighted at the results of bounce flash paired with the catchlight card supplied with the 580.

My direct flash results, though, aren't as impressive, and I'm wondering whether there are any ways to get good photos in situations when bouncing light is not an option (e.g. outdoor concerts, high chuch ceilings).

I've been reading about diffusers like the Sto-Fen Omnibounce and the Light Sphere, but so far it's still not clear to me whether they're for direct flash or whether they're just aids for bouncing. If anyone could point out the difference and perhaps give suggestions for improving direct flash, I and those new to flash photography would very much appreciate it.
takipsilim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 27, 2006, 9:53 AM   #2

Diffusers are used for direct flash. I can't imagine why one would use them for bounce flash, but that may just be a limit of my imagination.

I use the Omnibounce when I need a diffuser. It cuts down on the harshness of direct flash. It doesn't look as good as a properly-exposed bounce flash (you don't get the fill shadows of bounce flash, so people still look kind of flat, but the appearance is much better than that washed-out look of direct flash -- and you're less likely to get those stupid shadows on the wall if folks are standing too close to a background).Like you, I use it when bounce is not an option. The different brands of diffusers have proponents, but I don't think that there's enough difference in what I've seen to be particularly concerned about that. Any diffuser will do pretty much the same job.

tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2006, 7:58 AM   #3

Check out "The Flip-it" About $30 delivered and does wonders for flash.

http://www.joedembphotography.com/flipit/

gstephens