Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Oct 22, 2006, 9:57 AM   #1

Hi im a newbie in dslr cameras///can anybody give me tips on taking potraits for manual mode...indoors/outdoors...i cant really get that sharp picture with the blurry background and the features a;ways seem a bit gloomy.I use a nikon d70.i always set my iso to 200 and seldom use the flash.can anyone help?oh ya..i seldom use a tripod so a tip with faster shutter setting would be great!however i still appreciate any tip..thanx
aril79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 22, 2006, 10:09 AM   #2

If you want "blurry" backgrounds, use the largest aperature (smallest f/number) possible. Do a bit of reading on depth of field.

In addition, have the background as far away as possible and use a long lens.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2006, 10:47 AM   #3

Bill's suggestion to use a large aperture has the welcome effect of causing a faster shutter speed which helps control motion blur.

Outdoor portraits may benefit from fill flash. Just pop the flash and the camera will balance the light from the flash with the ambient light in most modes. Check the owner's manual for details.

Indoor portraits may not have enough light to get decent shutter speeds and you are getting both camera and/or subject motion. The built-in flash doesn't help much here as it gives a very harsh light. An external flash, such as an SB-600, will help if you bounce the light off a low white ceiling. If you don't have an external flash try turning on more lights in the room but avoid shining them directly on the subject. A tripod will help here also by controlling camera shake. Don't forget to use a custom white balance.

Bob Nichol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2006, 4:53 PM   #4

My Custom settings for my indoor portraits (using my 7D & Norman Strobes) are: 1/125sec (my cameras flash-synch speed) & f9.5. YMMV.
Old Oct 24, 2006, 8:41 AM   #5