Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Jul 25, 2007, 11:41 PM   #1

Hey Everyone,

I am going to down to North Carolina Beach in a couple of weeks and I was wondering what sort of advice you all have on shooting in a beach setting. A few shots I wanted to grab were nice sunrise/sunset shots, and great daytime beach shots of family and friends. What sort of aperature settings are best for this? What white balance? What Shutter Speeds? Should I bring a tri-pod. I am relatively new to all of this, and I am trying to read up as much as I can for now

My current rig is a Canon Digital Rebel XT, the standard 18-55mm 3.5 USM kit lens, and a Canon 28-105 3.5-4.5 USM. That's all (I literally upgraded to a DSLR about a week ago).
z0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 26, 2007, 10:34 AM   #2

There are two basic issues: metering and dynamic range.

A tripod is usefull to be able to easily combine two images shot at different exposures thus increasing dynamic range. See http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tu...blending.shtml for an excelent article in that subject. In any case, a tripod is pretty much always a good idea for any landscape photography.

It is possible to get part way hand holding by using the autobracketing feature of your camera, but you will still have to ding about aligning the images. You can also shoot RAW and "develope" one image for shadows and one for highlights - or combine those techniques.

Metering: spend a bunch of time before you leave getting used to your camera. In particular with using spot metering, manual exposure, and the histogram. Your camera manual is the best source of information on that.

BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2007, 10:35 AM   #3

Sorry: duplicate post.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2007, 6:22 AM   #4

Hello Z.....