Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Jun 2, 2009, 12:09 PM   #1

Default exposure

Hi Im new to DSLR, I am messing up the exposure on most of my photographs, even though I understand the triangle and how to basically arrive at the camera's correct exposure in manual or creative zones. I understand the theory behind it (have been reading up understanding exposure by bryan, a great book which opened my eyes to a lot of things and some basic stuff on youtube and the internet) yet it wasnt sufficient to help me master it in a creative space as such (i mean its a limited understanding or no understanding at all, i am not really in control most of the time),I would like to know if there is any video source that would actually help with understanding how metering, focusing and exposure lock can be combined in various situations such as a very bright object being in the same frame, too many shadows falling on someones face, shooting at home under incandescent light or whatever. watching someone do it helps a lot more than reading up on it for me. or any other online tutorial that would guide me through it? if there is no video, what is the best reading material I should get my hands on? thanks in advance

P.S. Am using a canon 40d with sigma 17-70 macro
skmdcam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 3, 2009, 3:42 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by skmdcam View Post
....would like to know if there is any video source that would actually help with understanding how metering, focusing and exposure lock can be combined in various situations....what is the best reading material I should get my hands on?...
You could learn a lot with experimentation, provided you keep good notes in a little notebook of what you did. The notebook would then provide very good "reading material" as you inspected the results on a monitor. This costs nothing but your time.