Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old May 12, 2010, 1:42 PM   #1

Default Runway fashion show tips?

I've been a beginner for about 15 years. I have a D40 and the two kit lenses - 18-55, 55-200, both VR. I understand the basics.

Next week, I'm attending a fashion show at an art school. I'd like to try to take some decent shots and step up my game a little. I went to one last week, and the results were predictably disappointing: because of the slow lens and low light, even when shooting at shutter-priority at 1/125 and under-exposed, the images were still not sharp. I probably should have set the ISO higher -- I still don't have a feel for how high I can go. I was at 400.

This one will be in an auditorium of the college. I don't know where I'll be sitting, but probably to the side of the runway, whereever we can get seats. I'm looking into renting a lens: either the Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 or the 80-200 f/2.8 (yes, i know it would be manual focus).

I do not have a flash, other than the built-in one.

I plan to set the white balance, shoot shutter-priority at 1/250. I don't think I care about aperture, right? The background will probably be dark. Is this right? I will be using a monopod. What else should I do to set up before the show?

What about the actually photos? When the model comes out, do I just start shooting in continuous mode for the duration of her walk? Do I always shoot the full body (the focus is on the garments)? Do I take dozens of shots of each model in hopes that a few will come out?

These photos are just for friends and family and Facebook (friends of friends). A few may get printed in 8x10. (My daughter is one of the student designers.)

Thank you! I appreciate whatever advice you can give me.
elliotm00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 12, 2010, 8:24 PM   #2