Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old May 14, 2010, 10:23 AM   #1

Default Somewhat specific and very important question for a shot:

Hi all, as I've said countless (or maybe about 15) times on these boards, I'm totally new to photography (just bought all my equipment over the last two months), and so I've been trying to ween myself into the manual mode through aperture priority. Anyway, I've got a trip to Ireland with my girlfriend coming up next week, and I have a pretty specific and super important moment I'd like to capture, and I wanted to ask your advice for setup/camera settings for it.

Here's the equipment I have to work with:

Canon T2i/550d
Canon 18-55mm is
Canon 50mm 1.8 is
Tokina 11-16mm 2.8
Slik Sprint Pro II Tripod
Remote (wired) shutter release

And here's the scenario: We'll be going to the Cliffs of Moher during one leg of our trip. While we're there, I would like to set up the camera somewhere the horizon/Atlantic ocean, as well as a good chunk of the cliff scenery are in view (could be at an angle on one of the curvy parts, maybe?). Then as the camera's counting down for the picture, I plan to drop to one knee and propose, hopefully timed perfectly so that a burst of photos catches her reaction.

I'm thinking the Tokina will be the best lens for this, given the wide angle (maybe setting it up just a few feet away for a better foreground), but I'm not entirely sure what settings (aperture, shutter speed, etc.) I should have the camera on for the best possible outcome. Now the caveat here is I'm not positive what time of day we'll be down by the cliffside, though I think it would be during daylight hours with enough sunlight that it won't be too dark for a quick capture, but maybe some suggestions for both afternoon and twilight shots would be helpful, cause I imagine they would be totally different.