Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Oct 29, 2004, 4:02 PM   #1

I am a MSc Biometrics student currently undertaking a project to look into the effects of illumination on a facial recognition system.
I am using a puppet head against the system and testing the influences of lights that hit the dummy head from various positions in order to establish the limitations of the face recognition algorithm.
I am using the Sony DSC-V1 Digital camera and am trying to use the manual settings for the aperture settings and the shutter speed. I am having problems in clearly identifying which values to assign these two variables to give me the best results, as with other cameras that I have used which do not have the manual setting, have compensated in the light quality of the capture therefore providing me with incorrect data. Therefore forcing me to adjust the camera settings manually.
On the pictures I just want to show how the effect of illumination/light increases as I increase the level of light, with the camera providing me with real life pictures, not being altered in any way.

Your advice and assistance would be deaply appreciated.
$habz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 30, 2004, 9:10 AM   #2

$habz wrote:
Quote:
, as with other cameras that I have used which do not have the manual setting, have compensated in the light quality of the capture therefore providing me with incorrect data. Therefore forcing me to adjust the camera settings manually.
On the pictures I just want to show how the effect of illumination/light increases as I increase the level of light, with the camera providing me with real life pictures, not being altered in any way.