Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Old Nov 17, 2004, 7:47 AM   #1

Could anyone pls. tell me some tips or links for taking food shots? I need to use them for for packaging/labels. I'm using Finepix S5100. All I have are 3 regular desk lamps and 1 slave flash. I also would like to know the settings of shutter speed, aperture, flash, iso, etc... thanks...
master is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2004, 3:51 PM   #2

Shooting food, especially prepared food, is difficult. I am not experienced in that area but I've learned a few things about it over the years.

With prepared foods, you have a very short time in which to work. Under the hot lights, the food will lose its appeal very quickly. This also applies to things like salads with fresh greens. The greens will wilt very quickly.

Keep salads in the refrigerator, covered in plastic, until ready to shoot. Have several duplicate dishes and only take one out of the refrigerator at a time. With entrees and cooked side dishes, don't place the food on the plate or bowl until immediately prior to shooting.

If you are shooting cold foods or beverages, spraying or misting with water helps achieve the fresh, appealing look. Ice cubes will melt very quickly. Consider using plastic fake ice cubes.

Many of the photographs you see in magazines or frozen food boxes do not show real food. Often, very realistic plastic or wax models are used. That order of French Fries you see on the menu at the local fast food joint is probably fake.

Check your local bookstore or Amazon.com for books on photographing food. You will probably find several.

Good luck.

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2004, 5:16 PM   #3

Another trick (that Chefs use in food competitions) is to spray the food item with a clear shellac. This gives it a shiny finish & keeps the colors brighter for a longer period of time.
Old Nov 17, 2004, 8:37 PM   #4