Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 22, 2004, 2:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Everbody!!
I just bought this camera DIGIGR8 3 MP. I tried to use it as a webcam using PC Camera mode but was not able to see anything on my PC monitor after connecting it through a USB. The manual says use a compatible video grasp program.

Couldyou please tell me what to do? Any software suggestions? tips?

Thanks.

Pankaj
swederoxette is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 22, 2004, 11:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

Is it suppose to came with it's own software on CD? (like webcam)
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2004, 8:59 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.
The only software it came with is Arcsoft photoimpression 4, and Sunplus ca 533a which I guess is a driver.
It has the ability for PC camera mode, but it says videos can be grasped by using any " video grasp software".

I don't know how to turn it into a webcam..

Thanks
swederoxette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2004, 12:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
KCan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,625
Default

You may try these, I don`t know if they will recognize your cam as webcam

http://www.download.com/3120-20_4-0....amp;search.y=7

http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/do...contentid=6361


When you plug the camera in the USB port, Win XP should process the driver installation and give you some choices I guess
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2005, 4:40 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,



I got a Nikkon coolpix S1. Can i use it as a webcam? If yes then how?
bhushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2005, 12:42 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Hey.

Cameras that I've hadrefer to"grasping" &"grabbing" ascapturing a still shot from a recorded video, it's never been related to using it as a webcam. I can't speak for your camera, though, so it might mean something different...

I can't really give you any advice on forcing your camera to broadcast, except to make sure it's set to moviemode. Maybe you could just buy a separate webcam? They're pretty cheap.
Opal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2005, 1:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
LadyhawkVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,374
Default

I agree with Opal. The webcams I've seen are pretty cheap something like $10-30 US. I'd get one of those and use my good camera for taking real photos.
LadyhawkVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2005, 11:06 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Default

I have a webcam in my yard and I use the Axis 2100. It works great and performs without any use of my PC. I watch LIVE from any PC in my house and the camera uploads photos every 20 sec to my website. You can get more info at http://www.axis.com .My birdcam is http://www.okiebirdcam.com If you need more info I can direct you to someone that can explain it better. All I can tell you is it's pretty much trouble free and performs excellent in low light. I do have it in a box that protects it from harsh weather and I've had to make it coon proof with a baffle. Occasionally I have to refocus the lens if we have a sudden drop in temps.Also have a deer feeder to keep them occupied so they won't eat from my platform feeder. Hope I've helped. Oh yeah, I've seen the Axis on EBay many times. Good luck!
okiebirdnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:54 PM.